Florence Museum Board of Trustees

The Florence Museum Board of Trustees, a support organization to the Florence County Museum, aims to collect objects of artistic, historic and scientific importance directly relating to Florence County, South Carolina, but also objects representing world cultures. Combined, these objects help to show a unique relationship between the Pee Dee region of South Carolina and other parts of the globe.

The Florence Museum Board of Trustee organization, established in 1936, has operated a museum in Florence, South Carolina in two separate but subsequent locations; the Florence County Library and the Sanborn Chase Home, Florence, South Carolina. The Florence Museum Board of Trustees officially closed the doors to the Florence Museum in 2013 to prepare the organizations collection for display in the Florence County Museum at 111 West Cheves Street, Florence, South Carolina.

The extensive collections held by the Trustees of the Florence Museum are leased to the Florence County Museum for exhibition and educational programming.

The following currently serve on the Florence Museum Board of Trustees.

Lloyd Willcox, Chairman
Becky Crawford, Vice Chairman
Barbara Casper
Hilda Conner
Elizabeth Docherty
Paula Efird
Jennie LeVine
Meg Lewis
Dr. Hunter Stokes
Genia Tyson

Mission of the Florence Museum Board of Trustees

The Florence Museum of Art, Science and History is a private, non-profit organization, incorporated in 1936 to promote the arts and sciences; to maintain in the city of Florence a museum; to collect, preserve, to exhibit and to interpret objects of historic, artistic and scientific interest. The Florence Museum enhances the quality of life in the community by serving as a cultural and learning resource.

Adopted May 26, 1994